Barbie.

Barbie turned me cynical

Barbie, a global phenomenon since 1959, creating a whole new world for women of all ages, creating a whole new line of beauty and social warfare and maintaining her figure even after all these years. Barbie was, is, and will be a global figure for girls; she comes in all different races, jobs and styles. Thus promoting it subtlety to us, our minds are enriched by her sense of style, how she mixes and matches her outfits, our minds are engrossed by how Barbie comes in different colours, and showing us how there are different people all around the world. Barbie also has many jobs and iconic figurines such as, “the homemaker”, “the Malibu” and “the tennis”. There are tons more dolls and figurines that show us different aspects of our lives.

I grew up with Barbie dolls. I had almost ten dolls and all of them vastly different from one another. My favourite ones were “Cooking Barbie”, “Beauty Barbie” and “Homemaker Barbie”. Quite a collection honestly, and of course growing older, I naturally gave them away to my neighbourhood children. Passing on precious memories and quality life principles? I couldn’t help but think now, is Barbie the reason I grew up with these certain aspects installed in me? I mean, did cooking barbie make me realise how I wanted to become a chef and did homemaker barbie lead me to thinking being a housewife is the perfect life? And better yet, is it because of beauty Barbie that I am now a very self-conscious 20 year old? 

Eating disorders and body type issues, self-esteem and the perception of beauty has been a part of anybody’s life since the day they step into the world. Although the creator of Barbie never intended to damage social norms and media, Barbie; the blonde bombshell, managed to gather enough ammo to release a sea of un-nurtured and psychotic women. On a diet frenzy, on a frenzy of looking gorgeous, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This doll that was created for little girls to play with had turned into a sexualised play thing that encouraged women to have a tiny waist line and curvaceous hips. Have perfect long hair, and the perfect pouting lips. Oh how the world turned into a sexualised economy. The psychological benefits from Barbie seem very little compared to the negative side of it. Barbie was damned for bring self-esteem and social development into a young child’s mind. Dressing her up in clothes that seemed too small or too tight, showing every ounce of her damn perfect figure. Was I supposed to have this figure when I grow older and wear clothes inspired by my childhood love? The influence this plastic doll has is immense. She encourages young girls to follow dreams and whatever they wish to pursue in the future, yet pressurises us into forming the thought of beauty and perfection. Oh how I hate Barbie now. She turned me into a cynical lady. I have too much confidence in me, and I’m always brought down back to earth when I see a girl prettier than me. I still think beauty is having a tiny waist and wearing un-naturally tight and small clothing, in order to have a boyfriend or any potential partner in the future. Barbie teaches us in order to have a good life with everything perfect, you just need to have good looks. And for that reason, I gave away every Barbie doll and accessory I ever had. 

 

For Warhol’s Children. 

Leave a comment